Regional Focal Points

KBA Regional Focal Points

As the KBA Programme rolls out it is recognised that there is a need to have people on each continent who can help guide the establishment of National Coordination Groups, help train in the application of the KBA Criteria, and provide the first assessment of proposed KBAs before they are submitted to the KBA Secretariat. Regional Focal Points (RFP) will play this role and work with the KBA Secretariat to roll out the KBA Programme in each region.

Interim Regional Focal Points have been nominated for the following regions and should be contacted if you have queries about assessing Key Biodiversity Areas or want to nominate a KBA:

Africa
Daniel Marnewick (daniel.marnewick@birdlife.org.za)

Asia
Mike Crosby (Mike.Crosby@birdlife.org)

Australasia and Pacific Islands
Mark O’Brien (Mark.Obrien@birdlife.org)

Latin America
Miguel Fernandez (Miguel_Fernandez@natureserve.org) and
Matt Foster (matt@rainforesttrust.org)
- please correspond with both RFPs

Mediterranean countries and eastern Europe
Marcos Valderrabano (Marcos.VALDERRABANO@iucn.org)

For other regions (North America and Europe) please contact the head of the KBA Secretariat, Andy Plumptre (aplumptre@keybiodiversityareas.org)